Total Pageviews

Monday, April 21, 2014

YOUNG ZEE - "Problems" / "Everybody Get" [Q-Tip Remix]

Before Tha Outsidaz was a name known outside Brick City, Young Zee managed to get a record deal with Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis label Perspective Records. Two promo singles was released in '96, the Ski produced "Problems" (which I dug up the music video for which you see up top) and "Everybody Get". Unfortunately like so many other dope '90s albums, "Musical Meltdown" as it was titled was shelved but not before a very limited amount of promo cassettes had been sent out to publications and radio stations for reviews and promotion. Strangely enough, The LP only received a two mics rating in The Source which I find quite odd considering that it's exactly a pretty banging record with guest verses and production by Lauryn Hill, KRS-One, Rah Digga, Ski Beatz, PaceWon, Twista. That wack The Source review might very well have been one of the reasons the album never got an official release  as critics pulled a lot of weight back in those days.

However, the vinyl heads at Dope Folk Records have finally made the album available to collectors via a two volume vinyl pressing for $20 each. Unfortunately the first volume, featuring the first 30 minutes of the album, is already out of print but Part 2 can be purchased here. Since it's limited to 300 copies you'd better hurry up if you want one for your collection. Once they are out of print I will upload the entire album here @ The Lost Tapes since it definitely deserves to be heard by as many people as possible if you ask me. One real cool thing about Dope Folk Records reissue is that they dug up a previously unreleased Q-Tip remix of the single "Everybody Get", and we all know that mid-'90s Abstract beats are pure GOLD. Check it out below...

No comments:

Post a Comment