Total Pageviews

Thursday, November 24, 2011

PETE ROCK & CL SMOOTH - "The '90s Remixes"

Things are moving slowly today and I haven't been able to bless my trusted readers too much lately with those compilations we all love so much. So why not get into hooking y'all up with two mad dope mid '90s playlists of classic and semi-classic non album material today? Scroll down to get the original Gang Starr Foundation's Big Shug's "album" I put together earlier today using the five songs from the singles he released around 1995 with a few hot bonus tracks. That's been catching a lot of plays the last few days over here, as has anything by the incredible duo below.
More interesting in my book than 90% of hip-hop's history is the Pete Rock & CL Smooth music of the early to mid-'90s. You might know that I put together every known non album cuts and features from the group throughout the years with the title "Between A Rock & A Smooth Place" some time ago. Essential listening for any follower of Mecca and The Soul Brother. Besides original album material the only thing I really left off was the the many great 12" versions which usually appeared as B-sides of classic singles like "Straighten It Out" and "T.R.O.Y.". For this mix, I put together all of those remixes, and the finished compilation is something I really thought came across lovely with plenty of mind-blowing material included. The sequencing come together very well too if I can say so myself and I hope y'all like it just as much as I do. It features all the remixes accompanying the 12" singles released between "Mecca..." and "All Souled Out" to "The Main Ingredient". Ten tracks in total, 50+ minutes and very good sound quality at that. Enjoy this shit and TURN IT THE FUCK UP!!!

01. "Mecca & The Soul Brother" [Wig Out Mix]
02. "Lots Of Lovin'" [Vocal Remix]
03. "Straighten It Out" [Vocal Remix]
04. "The Creator" [Surfboard Mix]
05. "They Reminisce Over You" [Remix]
06. "Down With The King" [Ruffness Mix] (w. Run DMC)
07. "I Got A Love" [Remix]
08. "Take You There" [Remix]
09. "Searching" [Remix] (w. Vinia Mojica)
10. "Get On The Mic" [Remix]



  1. Links dead, can you reup....plz & thank you

  2. Can you re-up this, plz?