Total Pageviews

Friday, July 19, 2013


Following the release of several semi-official unreleased J Dilla tapes in early 2006, right before the great producer's untimtely passing, he worked a lot with both his younger producer-brother Illa J and Frank Nitty (of Frank-N-Dank). Whereas the first Yancey Boys album consisted of Illa J spitting new vocals over unreleased tracks from Dilla's early mid-'90s contract as a producer for Delicious Vinyl (The Pharcyde, Brand New Heavies, N'Dea Davenport).

Now the duo has transformed into a trio, following the song "The Trowaway", and have recorded an entire album together of unheard Dilla productions. Then new Yancey Boy is titled "Sunset Blvrd", and is said to feature guest apperances by Common, Posdnous, De La Soul, Karriem Riggins, Guilty Simpson, SlimKid3, and Eric Robertson . The album is set for a September 17 release, so be on the lookout!

No comments:

Post a Comment