Total Pageviews

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

BRIAN COLEMAN - "Check The Technique V.2" + THE RUB's "The Mixtape"

Brian Coleman's first volume in the "Check The Technique: Linear Notes for Hip Hop Junkies" series (which was a reworked edition of an earlier bok called "Rakim Told Me") absolutely blew me away, and still to this day it stands as probably the finest book on hip-hop I have ever read. For those of y'all not too familiar with it, the book contains 25 chapters where each chapter focuses on a classic hip-hop album that is breaken down in an article and a track-by-track rundown, all done by the artists behind the album themeselves. A while back my man Linkan told me that the second installment is finally coming, and very soon at that (coming this November). Like the first intallment the book features 25 albums, with Coleman saying that he's going more in-depth with each chapter this time around. Albums include 3rd Bass "The Cactus Album, Rae's "Cuban Linx...", Ice Cube's "Amerikka's Most Wanted", the Black Star album, Lord Finesse & DJ MIke Smooth's "Funky Technician" and much more. Check out the full chapter list below, and do yourself a favor by pre-ordering this from Amazon or GetOnDown or your net bookshop of your choice.

01. 3rd Bass - "The Cactus Album"
02. Beatnuts, The - "Intoxicated Demons"
03. Black Sheep - "A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing"
04. Company Flow - "Funcrusher Plus"
05. The Coup - "Steal This Album"
06. Diamond & The Psychotic Neurotics - "Stunts, Blunts & Hip-Hop"
07. DJ Jazzy Jeff & Fresh Prince - "He's The DJ, I'm The Rapper"
08. Dr. Octagon - "Dr. Octagoneligyst"
09. Ed OG & Da Bulldogs - "Life of a Kid in the Ghetto"
10. Gravediggaz - "Niggamortis (a.k.a. 6 Feet Deep)"
11. Ice Cube - "Ammerikkka's Most Wanted" + "Kill At Will EP"
12. Jeru the Damaja - "The Sun Rises in the East"
13. KMD - "Black Bastards"
14. Kool G Rap - "Wanted Dead Or Alive"
15. Kwamé - "The Boy Genius"
16. Lord Finesse & DJ Mike Smooth - "Funky Technician"
17. Mantronix - "The Album"
18. Masta Ace Inc. - "Slaughtahouse"
19. Mos Def & Talib Kweli - "Black Star"
20. Naughty by Nature - "Naughy by Nature"
21. Nice & Smooth - "Ain't a Damn Thing Changed"
22. Raekwon - "Only Built 4 Cuban Linx..."
23. Smif-N-Wessun - "Dah Shinin'"
24. Stetsasonic - "In Full Gear"
25. Various - "Wild Style Breakbeats"

While we're waiting for the release of the book Brian Coleman and DJ team The Rub have put together a pre-mixtape called "Check The Technique Vol. 2: A Mixtape For Hip Hop Junkies". The tape features choice cuts from all the albums featured in the book, and is definitely worth a spin. Check it out below or head over here.

No comments:

Post a Comment