Total Pageviews

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

[Comp] PRHYME - ""Quality (The Prequel)""

I always felt that Royce Dav 5'9" is truly a master of his craft, an MC who's excellence shines through his writing and performances, whether it be punchline based raps or storytelling. Through his skills he has got to work with some of the best producers the culture has to offer, but no other match up his boom bap rhetoric as well as Mr. Gang Starr himself - DJ Premier. Kicking things off with the classic "Boom" back in 2001 it was evident from jump how well these two complimented each other. Since then there's been plenty of hot wax delivered from these brothers, pretty much every Royce album has had at least one or two Preemo bangers on there and more often than not, it's been the illest selections from the LP. So when the duo recently revealed that they were finally stepping up to the plate to deliver a full-length collaboration this year hip-hop heads worldwide were HYPE!

So before we get to the real deal later this year, I wanted to bring back a compilation of all their past classics and mixtape burners, packaged as "PRhyme - The Prequel". The result is 15 songs of pure boom bap heat that is sure to have your head nodding and your ears peaked to catch every bar from Royce and the guest emcees. I originally uploaded a compilation called "Bang It!" back in 2011, but this new version is expanded with a couple of additional tracks. The idea for doing this right now came from the homie M-Phatik (a.k.a. Mal Moe who always bring some good shit to the Lost Tapes) so a shout out to him!

01. "Intro"
02. "Hit 'Em!"
03. "Ding"
04. "Hood Love" (Ft. Bun B & Joell Ortiz)
05. "Writer's Block Remix" (Ft. Eminem)
06. "Gorilla Pimp Freestyle"
07. "Boom" [12" Mix]
08. "Hip-Hop"
09. "Second Place"
10. "Ya Dayz R #d" (Ft. NYGz, Lady Of Rage & Bumpy Knuckles)
11. "Shake This"
12. "Play It! Remix" (Ft. Big Shug, Singapore Kane & Termanology)
13. "My Friend"
14. "Y'all Ready Know" (Ft. Slaughterhouse)
15. "Something 2 Ride 2" (Ft. Phonte)

1 comment:

  1. Always love the compilations that you put out brother. Salute and continued blessings!