Total Pageviews

Friday, November 11, 2011

Alchemist x Dilated Peoples EP

The combination of the L.A. quartet consisting of Dilated Peoples and producer Alchemist has proved to be a safe way to create incredible records since Dilated's first official 12" single in '97. Alchemist has been a major part of every one of their albums as well as contributing heavily to Evidence's banging solo projects. In 2003 he released "Heavy Surveillance" on his own independent ALC Music Library imprint. It's a nine tracks mini album released in promotion of Dilated's then upcoming "Neighborhood Watch". 7 of the 9 tracks are produced by Alan the Chemist himself with T-Ray and Babu/Ev each contributing one song.

As you would expect the music on this disc packs that heavy thump and superior turntablism we have come to associate with this crew throughout the years. Besides the usual M.O. of Rakaa and Evidence holding shit down on the microphone, they are joined by Infamous Mobster's Prodigy, Havoc and Big Twinz as well as Talib Kweli and the late, great GURU. The two remixes at the end were previously available as B-sides and "Marathon" would appear on "Neighborhood..." but as far as I know the remaining tracks were exclusive to this impeccable release. Don't sleep!

01. "Alchemist Intro"
02. "Heavy Surveillance"
03. "Thieves" (Ft. Prodigy)
04. "Big Twinz Interlude"
05. "Marathon"
06. "Under the Sun" [prod. by DJ Babu / Evidence]
07. "Dilatin'" [prod. by T-Ray]
08. "Worst Comes to Worst" [Remix] (Ft. GURU & Havoc)
09. "Live On Stage" [Remix] (Ft. Talib Kweli)


1 comment: