Total Pageviews

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

[Album] TALIB KWELI - "Gravitas"

The last two Talib Kweli albums "Gutter Rainbows" and "Prisoner Of Consciousness" had their fair share of standouts, but as a whole I felt that they couldn't live up the Kweli's prior catalouge (including his more recent releases like the brilliance that was "Ear Drum", "Liberation" w/ Madlib, and the underrated second Reflecction Eternal LP). Only 7 months after "...Consciousness", Kweli is back yet again with "Gravitas", his tenth album to date (including the Black Star album); like on his last album producer Oh No supplies a few ccuts (three beats this time around), Khrysis, Statik Selektah, Ric,h Kidd, 6th Sense and even a production credit for the great J Dilla (who Kweli always sounded wonderful together). Guests on the 11 track record include, but not limited to Raekwon, Black Thougth, RES, Rah Digga, Gary Clark Jr., too name a few. 

While the album is not officially in stores until tomorrow, the great DJBooth supplies fans with a free stream of the album already today. To buy digital copies directly from Kweli, you can do so via his Bandcamp. I haven't had time to listen yet, but I'll do so tonight and get back with some more of my personal thoughts. Also feel free to drop some thoughts of your thoughts in the comments sectionl

01. "Inner Monolouge" [prod. Khrysis]
02. "Demonology" (Ft. Gary Clark, Jr.) [prod. Lord Quest]
03. "State Of Grace" (Ft. ) [prod. Lord Quest]
04. "Violations" (Ft. Raekwon) [prod. Thaddeus Dixon]
05. "Rare Portrait" [prod. Oh No]
06. "New Leaders" (Ft. Underachivers) [prod. Statik Selektah]
07. "The Wormhole" [prod. Oh No]
08. "What's Real" (Ft. RES) [prod. Rich Kidd]
09. "Art Imitates Life" (Ft. Black Thought, Rah Digga & AlBeBack) [prod. Oh No]
10. "Lover's Peak" [prod. 6th Sense]
11. "Color's Of You" (Ft. Mike Posner) [prod. J Dilla]


No comments:

Post a Comment