Total Pageviews

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Muneshine / Statik Selektah readies LP's

Brandon @ Crates of Jr. put me on to the intriguing news that Canadian rapping producer Muneshine will release his full-length, "There is Only Today", later this year and will be his fourth album so far. Even if you're not familiar with the artists previous work, there's still good reason to check out the album when it drops as it will include prouction work from not only Muneshine himself, but also cats like DJ Spinna, Illmind, M-Phazes, BoomBaptist and a few others but most importantly one of our favorite producers here at The Lost Tapes - D.I.T.C. veteran Buckwild who will also bless the project with his presence. I'm checking this for sure.

Another artist about to finalize his fourth solo album is DJ/producer Statik Selektah who really built a rep as one of the fanbarers of boom-bap these days. While previous LPs has showcased a range of legenary emcees ripping up the respected DJs beats, his new body of work, "Population Control" will feature a slightly different approach from previous album and a rather cool one at that. Statik is out to showcase the young but worthy emcees and providing them with proper beats. He will of course occassionally throw them on tracks with the true veterans of the game. His goal is to show the older rap heads and fans that there's plenty of raw youngins out there doing their thing as well as showing the kids following these new artists, how the OG's in the game get down. Sounds like an interesting idea for real - let's just hope the execution is proper.

Revealed guests so far are Reks, Skyzoo, Chace Infinite, Freddie Gibbs, Ternanology, Joell Ortiz, Jon Connor, XV, Rapsody, Smoke DZA, Action Bronson, STS, Chuwee, PUSH Montana, LEP Bogus Boys, Ea$y Money, Nitty Scott MC, Scram Jones, Colin Munroe, Slaine, Kid Daytona, JFK and that wack ass homo Mac Miller (again? wtf is this; ban this fuck) in one ringcorner and in the other ringcorner we got Lil' Fame, Strong Arm Steady, Tslib Kweli, Bun B, Brother Ali, Sean Price, Styles P and DJ Babu. Hmmmm ... 18 tracks in total and we can expect the album in retail stores on the 25th of October.

No comments:

Post a Comment